Life Elsewhere Music Vol 300

We’ve reached 300 volumes, so that means you have a lot of music to go back and listen to. 300 hours of the very finest in curated new music. Along the way we have focussed on artists we predicted would become massive stars, for example, the extraordinarily talented Arlo Parks. Her instantly recognizable music is now heard all over the world. Some of the music we select may not make it to worldwide acclaim, but we endeavor to bring you new releases you may never hear, otherwise. We begin this volume with another cut from the exceptional work of Telefís – the masterful collaboration between Garret “Jacknife” Lee and the late Cathal Coughlan. The Carthaginians is one of two tracks on their second album, a Dó that examines the role of ‘the showband’ in Irish popular culture of the ’60s and ’70s. Garret explains, “The song explores what it’s like to be in a band, the relationship with the audience, the internal dialogues, the branding, the town hopping, the dashed hopes, and the ridiculous fantasies” And, along with the electro-funk, The Carthaginians manages to namecheck the musicians of Jajuka and Sun Ra amongst others.  Essential listening. | Howl A Little Louder is from the LP, Howl A Little Louder Just Don’t Spit In My Mouth from Solid Ash. This is the work of Cape Town-based producer/musician/engineer Ruan Vos who says, “I am 26 now, and I’ve been trying/praying/wishing/dreaming for this project to become a reality since I was 13”.  From what I can gather there is a vibrant alternative music scene happening in South Africa and I’m going to keep a watchful eye – and ear. | Instrumentals are coming to the fore once again, so I do hope alternative programmers are brave enough to check out songs for airplay that don’t have the usual verse-chorus-verse. Chicago-based guitarist/composer Eli Winter’s self-titled album is mostly instrumentals and as you’ll hear with Brain On Ice you can easily imagine your own words to the scenarios this fine musicians and collaborators create. Oh, and a word about the label, Three Lobed Recordings out of North Carolina, “We are a boutique label specializing in all flavors of psychedelia. The label was started in 2000 and is largely operated by cats.” Marvelous. | Next a band I have been fascinated by and a fan of since 1979, And Also The Trees. Formed by the brothers Simon and Justin Jones and Graham and Nicholas Havas in a small village in Worcestershire. Over the years And Also The Trees have gone through a number of line-ups, but Simon and Justin Jones are still the main core. Their new album, The Bone Carvers shows the band are back in fine form as you’ll hear with The Girl Who Walks The City. Do make sure you check out their back catalog and search out some of their fascinating videos. A treat. | Lines Of Silence is the alias of David Little, previously known as Smallhaus. Hare In The Dawn Light is another instrumental where the listener can summon up their own images without listening to lyrics. Meditative, yet Lines Of Silence’s work is full of textures. David Little who hales from Todmorden in Yorkshire says Lines of Silence’s music is largely improvised, drawing on various genres, mixed in with a reverence for the natural world. | And now for something completely different, Non-Consensual Finger Twiddling give us Stop Kicking My Fucking Peanut Bag, Arsehole. From Glasgow, a ribald sense of humor is at the forefront of this chap’s work. I admit, I like the LP, Everyone I Know Is A Ghost. | When it comes to expertly creating dub music, you cannot ignore, Hermit Dubz out of Birmingham, (UK stylee). Teaming up with veteran reggae vocalist, Clive Hylton AKA Colour Red we have a fabulous EP, complete with a vocal version. And three glorious dubs. I selected Eyes Of Jah Dub 3, of course, you should grab the complete EP. A tip of the hat to Damon Wilding on percussion. In total, masterful. | Th next cut begins with a dubesque flavor, it’s E. Fishpool with I Don’t Hate You. This is from The World I Want Would Be Celestial, Wet, new experimental music from the Absorb label out of Melbourne, Australia. This is a double album I am raving about. The folks at Absorb want you to know, “This is their first full-length release, which serves as a timestamp of a very special chapter of contemporary experimental music being made in Naarm (Melbourne) and its surrounds. Absorb acknowledges the Custodians of the lands on which this publication was produced. So-called Australia is stolen land, where sovereignty was never ceded. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.” Essential listening. | And now an artist I have predicted we shall hear a lot more of. Sorcha Richardson first came to our attention when she was living in Brooklyn and released the sublime, Petrol Station. Now the Irish artist is back home in Dublin and is off on tour supporting her latest long-player, Smiling Like An Idiot. Because I think Sorcha deserves your full attention, I’m including two cuts from her new LP, Archie and Shark Eyes. Beautiful voice, songwriting, and production. | To close, from their album Glossover, it’s Afternoon Bike Ride with For The Breakdowns. This Montreal-based trio consists of Lia (vocals, guitar, programming), David (vocals, guitar, drums, programming), and Éloi (vocals, keys, drums, programming). Lia says, “Life is imperfect. We’re imperfect and that’s something beautiful to keep in mind.” I agree. Enjoy Vol 300.


  1. Telefís – The Carthaginians
  2. Solid Ash – Howl A Little Louder
  3. Eli Winter – Brain On Ice
  4. And Also The Trees – The Girl Who Walks The City
  5. Lines Of Silence – Hare In The Dawn Light
  6. Non-Consensual Finger Twiddling – Stop Kicking My Fucking Peanut Bag, Arsehole 
  7. Colour Red – Eyes Of Jah Dub 3
  8. E. Fishpool – I Don’t Hate You
  9. Sorcha Richardson – Archie
  10. Sorcha Richardson – Shark Eyes
  11. Afternoon Bike Ride – For The Breakdowns

Artwork by Pete Harvey “A sad American at the deli counter” 2022 24″ x 24″ giclée print on archival paper. Courtesy of Norman B’s collection